Volunteering your time – by providing your services

When I was working towards my degree at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College, one of the best methods they utilized in design strategy and presentation was service-learning. They would bring in organizations that need help from students of NWTC. My program (Marketing and Graphic Communications) provided design help for various occasions: organization branding, event advertisements, collateral design, and other designs. It was one of the most rewarding experience – because not only do we get to design real work that is utilized, we also helped an organization that needs our help. Those works can help your portfolio – if you are the career world that requires portfolios.

To this day, I continue to provide my services for non-profit organizations. These days, more specifically towards those who help empower and serve the deaf community. As a deaf individual myself, it means more to me to be able to help in a way that I know best, for those with common life experiences as I have. Check them out! Wisconsin Association of the Deaf – www.wisdeaf.org, and Deaf Unity – www.deafunitywi.org.

For more information on Service-Learning provided by NWTC, check out the weblink below:
http://www.nwtc.edu/atnwtc/servicelearning/Pages/Home.aspx

If you have skills that can help, I encourage it. Not having time to help physically, doesn’t mean you can’t help at all. Sometimes a lot of help needed is in administration, marketing, and volunteer recruitment.


Leave a Reply

